Visa exemption for Monegasques transiting in China


From November 1, Monaco has joined the list of 51 countries for which China applies a visa-free stay from 72 to 144 hours, depending on the airport, while in transit. This policy was implemented by China in 2013.

Monegasque nationals can have visa-free access if they meet the requirements. First, the stay needs to be a living “transit” – the stop in China must be followed by a destination other than that of the country of embarkation for China (round trips do not apply).

Second, passengers will be visa exempt for a maximum of 72 hours when entering China through one of these airports: Beijing, Guangzhou, Chengdu, Chongqing, Shenyang, Dalian, Guilin, Xi’an, Kunming, Tianjin, Qingdao, Xiamen, Wuhan, Harbin and Changsha.

Travellers arriving in China through Shanghai, Hangzhou and Nanjing airports will be visa exempt for a maximum of 144 hours.

The visa exemption will be issued for a single Administrative Zone to a Monegasque national upon arriving in China via one of the aforementioned airports.

Passengers need to produce two documents, which include a passport valid for at least 6 months, and with two blank pages, and an airline ticket confirming transit to another country via China.

An arrival/departure card will need to be filled out in-flight before landing to apply for an in transit visa-waiver.