Monaco welcomes EFTA Group of the Council of the EU

Gilles Tonelli, Minister of Foreign Affairs and Cooperation, on Wednesday, September 5, welcomed the EFTA Group (European Free Trade Association) of the Council of the EU. The study group is in Monaco until September 7.

The Working Group, which visited Monaco for the first time in June 2013, consists of diplomats from the 28 EU Member States, as well as representatives of the Council Secretariat and the European External Action Service. In particular, it is responsible for monitoring the negotiations for the conclusion of an association agreement between Monaco and the EU.

The visit, organised on the initiative of the Prince’s Government, aims to present and explain to the main European partners the geographical and demographic realities of Monaco, as well as the institutional, economic and social specificities of the Principality.

Gilles Tonelli
Gilles Tonelli, Minister for Foreign Affairs. UN Photo: Jean-Marc Ferré

The EFTA group of the EU Council ensures cooperation in the European Economic Area and manages relations with the European Free Trade Association (EFTA). It also manages EU relations with Norway, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, Monaco, Andorra, San Marino and the Holy See/Vatican City as well as with the Faroe Islands.